In Time we will see them flourish

In Time we will see them flourish
7 July 2022
Courtesy stock photo
Seek me in the rivers that flow stark
I have given in to the tides that all embrace
yielding into the deltas that claim more
that demand from all the very core

I will gaze upon the sun unflinching
the memories of you lying intact
unravelling in a world we never touch
as I watch your dark wings glowing

Laying on a bed of flowers exhaling
scent of jasmine, rose and moonflowers
I am one with my other face hidden
deep into the water it slowly grows

What is you has now become me, us
and what I am I know exists no more
yet I explore the emptiness of your face
translucent, aglow, it escapes physicality

I look beyond the life we never had
beyond stolen instances of nighttime 
into the compressed breaths taken
to construe a world beyond the world

We will sing sweet and soft lullabies 
to the unborn children we raised
in our mind’s eye they roam playgrounds
sitting in the recesses of my bosom

We keep and weep within my bosom
withered like an old nun’s gait
it speaks of unraveled moments
In Time we will see them flourish

Reading of the poem:
I’ll be seeing you – Billie Holiday

2 thoughts on “In Time we will see them flourish

Leave a comment