The Human Experiment

The Human Experiment

14 March 2020

 

I was reading today a 2017 article about Quantum theory and the “observer effect”. I have always been convinced since early adulthood that we not only react to our surroundings but can interact with our surroundings in a deeper way than by just the physical touch. This conviction was held earlier in the form of a guesstimate that there was something out there reflecting what was inside and I used to be a very dreamy child convinced that I was not from “down here”. Thankfully my parents were not the type who were intent on making their child prosaic and aware of their circumstances so I was left to myself to think whatever I wanted.

 

I remember once when I was little my elder sister hanging from the iron bars outside the window, covered in insects and telling me she was going to die and I had a feeling this meant she was going to fly away to the stars like the butterfly my father had shown us once transforming from a caterpillar. I was so convinced that I was not from here that I kept to myself most of the time and had very little friends. It was as if I was waiting to leave at any moment in time and would therefore prefer not to be burdened by separations. The stories our father told us or that my elder sisters read out or gave me to read increased this level of dreaminess and expectations of great miracles of the mind on matter.

 

Starting from the year 2010, I became increasingly convinced that there was an intimate interaction between our hearts, our minds and not only Earth but the whole Universe out there. I started writing from that feeling and a lot of my poetry became infused with that thought or conviction. From that time onwards, I carried out a series of experiments on myself and my surroundings to see whether my moods, my beliefs and thoughts could indeed change my surroundings and the events in my life. It is difficult to say whether this happened or not as this could only be measured by experiencing the same life without this experimentation which is, today at least, virtually impossible. In 2016, however, I realized that the fact of wanting to carry out this experimentation had given rise within me of a sort of entity which remained aloof from everything felt or carried out and which I termed “inner observer” to which I dedicated the poem “Finding inner observer” which I am giving the link for here (https://geethaprodhom.wordpress.com/2016/03/16/finding-inner-observer/).

 

I continue to carry out experimentation on myself using my feelings and thoughts to observe what is the outcome of those feelings and thoughts on my life and although I wish I were able in parallel to carry out a human experiment with different feelings and thoughts and have someone else observe the effects, I find it interesting to note that positive feelings and thoughts do indeed make my situation better while negative feelings and thoughts make my life spiral downwards. What was more interesting to note was that negative feelings and thoughts spiraled downwards much quicker and created life surroundings and circumstances which were much worse than on the positive scale upwards.

 

If any of you have carried out such human experiments, I would be glad to hear from you in the comments section. Meanwhile, please find below the link to the BBC article which while a bit old is quite interesting and I leave you with those thoughts and as usual with a link to a video on youtube I hope you will enjoy listening to while reading this or going on with your daily activities.

http://www.bbc.com/earth/story/20170215-the-strange-link-between-the-human-mind-and-quantum-physics

 

 

Thomas Feiner – The Rainbow

Leave a comment