Introduction to Reiki

Introduction to Reiki
22 April 2024
Courtesy freepik.com


This weekend I attended my reiki level one course. Those who know me are aware that I do pranic healing after having taken successfully the 5 levels of pranic healing courses at the Grand Master Choa Kok Sui centre in Dubai. I have been doing pranic healing since 2017 after having initially started doing energy healing in 2013. I wasn’t sure what to expect with reiki but had heard a lot of good things about it. The course surpassed anything I could expect and was given by a young enthusiastic and knowledgeable lady, Justine Nolan, who was very communicative and empathetic. She did the first level attunement in four stages and this worked really well rather than having just one attunement for level one. Already after the first attunement, I was able to connect to reiki and feel it flow through my body.

The process with reiki was very different from what I had experienced with pranic healing. In pranic healing for example, every practice starts with prayers to a number of entities that included God, our angelic guides, our Masters, including those ascended, our teachers, etc. With reiki healing, all that was required was to go through a process called dry brush before the gassho meditative pose, enabling us to request reiki to flow through us. One other salient feature that I found interesting is that the practitioner in reiki is a recipient through which reiki flows for the benefit of the patient and does not alter the outcome of where reiki flows and how it does so while in pranic healing the practitioner can flow prana to one region instead of the other. Given this difference in control, the practitioner in reiki healing cannot harm the patient inadvertently while in pranic healing, if the practitioner charges too much a certain chakra or too little, the outcome of the session changes considerably. I also liked the fact that unlike with pranic healing where we use a device to get rid of the diseased energy (bowl of water with salt or burning with thought), reiki does not contain the notion of contamination and therefore there is no “diseased energy” to get rid of. There is only the sharing of reiki and no fear related reactions are attached to this sharing of energy.

There are other differences in dealing with the chakras, but I will keep them for later, after I have attended reiki level 2 in July and finally the master level course some months after that. In the meantime, if any of you want to share reiki, feel free to drop me an email and I will see if it is possible to accommodate your request.

Dai Ko Myo – Jonathan Goldman