Good morning sunshine

Morning has broken, another bone in me

And whether I face it or whether I’d flee

The sun rises and on me pounces in glee

Stricken I’m standing on a quaking knee

 

13 December 2010

 ♣

When the rooster crows, I finally start

I realize that it is morning rise yet anew

My tired eyes from floor to ceiling dart

Of hours of sleep this month but a few

 ♣

My hair keeps falling in packs and lumps

For gift of dawn this price again I will pay

The chill of ill cools me with goose bumps

Announcing of mine glossy skin the decay

 ♣

In wake of morning I turn an ashen face

To peering light shining on the early dew

My mind goes still though without solace

As thoughts through it will race and skew

 ♣

And as the day wakes so does the dance

I would yet steel myself for this mine play

Good morning, let us rejoice and prance

And sing to glory yet another bright day

 ♣

A heaving heart would chance to meet

With fate of brewery and many a mew

And though I never shared such a treat

I wish and wish a drunken state I knew

 ♣

In drunken stupor them words I’d flaunt

Knowing not a sense in the words I say

With my sad mimics well-wishers I taunt

So they’d leave me alone without delay

 ♣